SpielByWeb Forum Index SpielByWeb
http://www.spielbyweb.com/
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Find a UserFind a User   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 Your GamesYour Games   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

wallenstein game # 18430
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SpielByWeb Forum Index -> Wallenstein
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
craw-daddy



Joined: 09 Feb 06
Posts: 59

Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No! The exact same thing that happens in this web game happens in the real life game. That's the point we're making here. If you lose a province, then whatever action is assigned to that province (if it hasn't occurred already) is lost too, even if you get the province back later in the same turn. In the real-life version, yes, you get the card back but it goes into your *hand* and not onto the board. And this is why you can't perform the action if you lose, and then regain, the province. It's card is not on the board anymore.

So there is no conflict between the board game and this web version. Can anybody else verify this? I've played the real-life version but it has been a while, but as far as I know there is *no* difference in this regard, and the consequences of losing a province are clearly described in the rules.


Last edited by craw-daddy on Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile BoardGameGeek Send private message
nearsider



Joined: 22 Jan 06
Posts: 42

Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SBW has implemented this correctly, from my readings of the rules.
Back to top
View user's profile BoardGameGeek Send private message
craw-daddy



Joined: 09 Feb 06
Posts: 59

Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile BoardGameGeek Send private message
steve von laudicina



Joined: 28 May 06
Posts: 49


PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apparently then you haven't played much because when a provence is taken, you get that card and what it represents. The same thing would obviously hold true if I get it back. The only difference would be if someone else took it from him because his gold option is already pre-selected provided he selected a gold option, then the rule would apply because that would not have been a chosen action from that player. What makes a big difference here is because it's so late in the game I would not have normally chosen the gold option for the last turn because I would have had enough gold to buy everything I need to help me win. Because of that, the result makes that impossible for me, and thus guarenteing that I have no shot at winning the game. Had I known that before retaking it, I would have gone elsewhere with my attack and maybe get something better. As it was I needed my gold, so that had to be the most viable option for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steve von laudicina



Joined: 28 May 06
Posts: 49


PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read the rules and in no way is it clear. But I know the rules in the hard copy and had no reason to suspect that it would be any different here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prof



Joined: 09 Aug 06
Posts: 1

Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's no diference here. everything is correct. if you lost your provence, you lost your action. even, if you win your provence back. it's the same way in the boardgame.
but i'm sure, you won't belive it Wink
Back to top
View user's profile BoardGameGeek Send private message
HappyProle
SBW Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 05
Posts: 409

Location: Salt Lake City, UT

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We're not going to discuss this any more. The rules are quite clear, both in hard copy and here on SBW. I'm not going to let one person create a controversy that doesn't exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
phil



Joined: 17 Oct 03
Posts: 93

Location: Cumberland, RI USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steve von laudicina wrote:
when a provence is taken, you get that card and what it represents.

This is incorrect. When you lose a province, you must remove the card from your player mat and hand it to your opponent. who keeps the card in their hand. If you subsequently recapture the province, then you receive the card from your opponent and keep it in your hand. It does NOT go back onto your player mat.

The SBW implementation is consistent with this rule.
Back to top
View user's profile BoardGameGeek Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SpielByWeb Forum Index -> Wallenstein All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group