| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	
	
		shizzane
 
  
  Joined: 02 Aug 06 Posts: 61
  Location: TS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:16 pm    Post subject: Newbie Question | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				Hello!  I've never played this before and am trying the learn-as-you-go approach but have stumbled across a slight problem.  how the heck do you play a land tile or animal on the board? I know this is probably something very simple and I'm going to look like a moron for reading  the rules 5 times and still not being able to figure it out.   
 
 
Here's what I would do at the start of my turn:
 
1. Click on land tile or animal.
 
2. Board refreshes and I click the board on the space to match the land tile (or the animal on an open pampas space).
 
3. Nothing happens.     
 
 
I'm not even sure if that's a good move, I just wanted to try something 
 
different.  So I ended up just buying 3 animals.  Please help.  Gracias! | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		stargate
 
  
  Joined: 09 Dec 04 Posts: 603
  Location: North Attleboro, Ma    USA
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:06 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				above the map is your inventory of land and animals
 
click on a circle (the number tells you how many you have)
 
then click on a circle that has appeared on the map and the
 
animal or land will be placed in that hex | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		shizzane
 
  
  Joined: 02 Aug 06 Posts: 61
  Location: TS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				| Thanks Bob.  That is what I tried to do, but it wouldn't work.  I will try it again on my next turn and let you know if I'm still having issues. | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		HappyProle SBW Developer
  
  Joined: 28 Oct 05 Posts: 409
  Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:12 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				| What OS, what browser and what version of both? | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		shizzane
 
  
  Joined: 02 Aug 06 Posts: 61
  Location: TS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:19 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				 	  | HappyProle wrote: | 	 		  | What OS, what browser and what version of both? | 	  
 
 
When I asked this question I was at work, so here is the relevant info:
 
Windows XP
 
MS Internet Explorer (I'm sure this is the latest version as we're always getting updates at work)
 
 
Hopefully my turn will come back around again so I can try this from home. 
 
 
Thanks for your help!
 
-Shane | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		shizzane
 
  
  Joined: 02 Aug 06 Posts: 61
  Location: TS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:41 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				| Hmm.  Everything is working fine from my home computer.  Either I was doing something incorrectly or I missed a rule somewhere along the way. | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		shizzane
 
  
  Joined: 02 Aug 06 Posts: 61
  Location: TS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:35 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				| I figured out what was wrong. I tried to play a pampas Land Card as my first action and for some reason that is not allowed.  Maybe that should be added to the rules.  Thanks. | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		RyanMC SBW Developer
  
  Joined: 13 Sep 05 Posts: 344
  Location: Draper, UT USA
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:16 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				Pampas has to be played next to an already started land chain. I will add it to the rules here online. _________________ ---------------
 
-=RyanMC=-
 
--------------- | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		HappyProle SBW Developer
  
  Joined: 28 Oct 05 Posts: 409
  Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:18 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				You can't play a Pampas card without it being "anchored" to some other land type.  In other words, a Pampas can't be the first land in a chain.
 
 
We'll add a note to the INFO box stating that there's no valid place to play your Pampas in such a scenario. | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		shizzane
 
  
  Joined: 02 Aug 06 Posts: 61
  Location: TS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:26 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				Thanks for the clarification. 
 
 
I wonder if someone could also answer another question for me that I could not find in the rules...
 
 
When I go to place a hacienda on a land chain (I believe it was a chain of 5-6) it only gives me certain spaces where I can play it.  Why is that?  And does that even matter to my strategy or is it a moot point? | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		Kanga
 
 
  Joined: 27 Oct 05 Posts: 1503
  Location: Moe, Victoria, Australia
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:35 pm    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				 	  | shizzane wrote: | 	 		  Thanks for the clarification. 
 
 
I wonder if someone could also answer another question for me that I could not find in the rules...
 
 
When I go to place a hacienda on a land chain (I believe it was a chain of 5-6) it only gives me certain spaces where I can play it.  Why is that?  And does that even matter to my strategy or is it a moot point? | 	  
 
 
It doesn't matter - you can only play 1 hacienda per land chain, so it doesn't matter where you place it on that chain.  I guess the developers chose to only offer one space to make it visually more appealing and less confusing... | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		 |