| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	
	
		Murwiz
 
  
  Joined: 02 Dec 05 Posts: 13
  Location: SW Michigan
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:38 am    Post subject: Placing pampas tile scored 2 points for animal next to water | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				See the last action by red (me) in game 11931:
 
 
 
Murwiz buys a pampas from the land deck.
 
Murwiz places a swamp land tile at (12,10).
 
Murwiz scores 1 point for placing a land tile next to water.
 
Murwiz places a pampas land tile at (10,11), scoring 6 points for creating a land chain of size 3 or greater.
 
Murwiz scores 2 points for placing an animal next to water.
 
 
 
 
Eh? My last action, placing a Pampas tile, should indeed score 6 points for making a land chain. But what's with the "2 points for placing an animal next to water"? | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		HappyProle SBW Developer
  
  Joined: 28 Oct 05 Posts: 409
  Location: Salt Lake City, UT
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:08 am    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				That's a typo in the gamelog, it should read 'land.'  You get two points for the land placed at (10,11) since it's next to two waters.
 
 
Just to be sure I added up your score and it looks correct:
 
 
Markets: 7=>28 pts
 
Land: 16=>32 pts
 
Haciendas: 9
 
Water: 34
 
Money: 1
 
 
Total: 104 | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		Murwiz
 
  
  Joined: 02 Dec 05 Posts: 13
  Location: SW Michigan
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:21 am    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				| Ah, OK. After all these games I still didn't quite grasp the water rule: I thought each land or animal scored one point if it was next to water. I didn't realize it was one point for each water-land and water-animal "junction". But certainly the typo sent me off track. | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		 |